Saturday, June 4, 2011

Timeline Climbing Of Gasherbrum II

  • 1956 First ascent
  • 1975 Second ascent by a French group, 19 years after the first ascent. This expedition also saw the first death on the Gasherbrum. Three other expeditions summit including a Polish women's team headed by Wanda Rutkiewicz.
  • 1979 A Chilean and a German expedition succeed in the sixth and seventh ascents. The Chilean was the first latinamerican ascent to an eight-thousander
  • 1982 Reinhold Messner reaches the top with two Pakistanis, Nazir Sabir and Sher Khan.
  • 1983 Jerzy Kukuczka with Wojciech Kurtyka eastern ridge ascent, new route. Alpine style ascent without the aid of oxygen.
  • 1984 Messner and Hans Kammerlander traverse Gasherbrum I and Gasherbrum II without returning to base camp in between.
  • 1984 First descent by ski by team CAF Besançon (France) led by Daniel Croisot, summit by Wim Pasquier and Patrice Bournat, ski from the summit, joined by Dr Dominique Dock from 7800m, totally skied the face down to base-camp set at 5200m. 1 month after meeting with Messner and Kammerlander, returning from their 2 summits.
  • 2005 Ski descent by Jørgen Aamot (Norway) and Frederik Ericsson (Sweden)
  • 2007 Three Italians, Karl Unterkircher, Daniele Bernasconi and Michele Compagnoni, reach the top opening a new way on the north face, in alpine style.
  • 2011 First winter ascent by Simone Moro, Denis Urubko and Cory Richards in alpine style.


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by | Bloggerized by World Mountain - Premium Blogger Themes | Blogger Templates